History of Mewar Dynasty

Here you’ll get easy history facts about the warrior land of Mewar.

Mewar is considered to own a glorious history than any other kingdoms that existed in India in the ruler-kingdom era. There have been several disputes emerged and fought out in several battles for specifically gaining the Mewar Kingdom.

We’ve tried to present the events and facts of Mewar history in point to point format below:

History of Mewar

Compilation of Mewar Land

history of mewar

Image Source

  • Several fellows consider that only Udaipur city is Mewar, but there were also other cities from various states that emerged in the history of Mewar Kingdom.
  • The Mewar region comprised of Bhilwara, Rajsamand, Chittorgarh, Udaipur and Pirawa (Jhalawar District) from Rajasthan; Mandsaur and Neemuch from Madhya Pradesh; and some parts of Gujarat.

Emergence of Mewar

  • Mewar was founded in 530 by Bappa Rawal, an ancestor of the Sisodiya dynasty.

history of mewar

Image Source

  • It is believed that Mewar was a slang name for ‘Medapata’, it means initially the Mewar Kingdom was referred as Medapata Kingdom and later the slang word ‘Mewar’ was used.
  • At the time of Bappa Rawal’s reign, Mewar’s capital was Nagda that lays 19 kms north of Udaipur city which became the final capital of Mewar in the last reigns of Maharanas.

Reigns and Kings of Mewar

  • Before Udaipur became the capital in the Mewar history, Chittor which is now referred as ‘Chittorgarh’ was the capital of Mewar.
  • Listed below are the names of the rulers and their reigns in the Mewar kingdom categorized in two categories: Mewar Kingdom with Chittor Capital & Mewar Kingdom with Udaipur Capital.

Mewar Kingdom with Chittor Capital

1 Maharana Hamir Singh I  1326 1364
2 Maharana Kheta  1364 1382
3 Maharana Lakha  1382 1421
4 Maharana Mokal 1421 1433
5 Maharana Kumbha 1433 1468
6 Maharana Udai Singh I 1468 1473
7 Maharana Rai Mal 1473 1509
8 Maharana Sangram Singh I Rana Sanga  1509 1528
9 Maharana Ratan Singh II 1531
10 Maharana Vikramaditya Singh 1531 1537
11 Maharana Vanvir Singh 1537 1540


Mewar Kingdom with Udaipur Capital

1 Maharana Udai Singh II 1568 1572
2 Maharana Pratap Singh I 1572 1597
3 Maharana Amar Singh I 1597 1620
4 Maharana Karan Singh II 1620 1628
5 Maharana Jagat Singh I 1628 1652
6 Maharana Raj Singh I 1652 1680
7 Maharana Jai Singh 1680 1698
8 Maharana Amar Singh II 1698 1710
9 Maharana Sangram Singh II 1710 1734
10 Maharana Jagat Singh II 1734 1751
11 Maharana Pratap Singh II 1751 1754
12 Maharana Raj Singh II 1754 1761
13 Maharana Ari Singh II 1761 1773
14 Maharana Hamir Singh II 1773 1778
15 Maharana Bhim Singh 1778 1828
16 Maharana Jawan Singh 1828 1838
17 Maharana Sardar Singh 1838 1842
18 Maharana Swarup Singh 1842 1861
19 Maharana Shambhu Singh 1861 1874
20 Maharana Sajjan Singh 1874 1884
21 Maharana Fateh Singh 1884 1930
22 Maharana Bhupal Singh 1930 1956
23 Maharana Bhagwat Singh  1956 1984

Facts about Rulers of Mewar

Chittor Mewar Dynasty:

  • Maharana Hamir Singh I was the first Mewar ruler to adapt the title which was later used as a prefix to all the rulers’ name: ‘Maharana’.
  • Maharana Lakha claimed back the Mewar territories from Delhi.
  • Maharana Mokal was killed at the age of 24 when the Marwar invaded Mewar.
  • Maharana Sangram Singh I is popularly renowned as Rana Sanga, he was a great warrior who fought against the raids of Ibrahim Lodhi of Delhi. Later in 1527 was defeated in a furious battle against Babur the Mughal Emperor.
  • Maharana Udai Singh II had to shift the capital of Mewar from Chittor to Udaipur as Mughal Emperor Akbar sieged the palace and their forces were outnumbered.
  • Maharana Ratan Sen the husband of Rani Padmini (Padmavati) as depicted in the famous movie of Sanjay Leela Bhansali ‘Padmavat’ was also a Mewar ruler (1302 – 1303 CE).

history of mewar

Image Source

Udaipur Mewar Dynasty:

Maharana Pratap Singh I is the most celebrated Maharanas of Mewar, he fought fiercely from the Mughal Emperor Akbar to keep his Mewar in safe hands. The Battle of Haldighati is remembered as a token of bravery and sacrifice.

history of mewar

Image Source

  • Maharana Amar Singh I became a vassal of the Mughal Empire for around 150 years and accepted their dominance.
  • Maharana Karan Singh II provided refuge to Prince Khurram populary known as Shah Jahan at the Jagmandir Island Palace located amidst the Lake Pichola.
  • On April 7th 1949 Udaipur was signed under the accession of an Independent Democratic India.
  • The Maharanas now are considered as the Mewar Custodians.

East India Company and Mewar Treaty

  • On January 13th 1818, the Treaty of Friendship, Unity and Alliance was signed between the East India Company and Mewar as the Scindia, Amir Khan, and Holkar raided Mewar frequently for more than half a century before 1818.
  • The treaty stated that Mewar will acknowledge the supremacy of British in return of protection for the Mewar territory.

Places to visit to relive the History of Mewar

  1. Chittorgarh Fort: The initial Mewar Capital Chittor was accessed from Chittorgarh Fort by the Maharanas. The Chittorgarh fort is said to still sing the tales of the queens who performed Jauhar on various war occasions.
  2. City Palace (Udaipur): The administration of Mewar was taken care of by the Maharanas from City Palace Udaipur, as Udaipur became the capital of Mewar later.
  3. Kumbhalgarh: The wall of Kumbhhalgarh is much famous as it is the second longest wall of the world after the Great Wall of China.
  4. Haldi Ghati: The Bloody Battle of Haldighati can be sensed by the artforms showcased in the Haldighati Museum and the color of the sand.
  5. Sajjangarh: This Monsoon Palace was built specially to adore the monsoon clouds over Mewar closely and acquire an aerial look of the capital.
  6. Jagmandir Island Palace: Prince Khurram (Shah Jahan) took refuge in Jagmandir Island Palace, and there are various architectural designs that may reflect the Mughal and Mewar compilation.
  7. Taj Lake Palace: It was built for the royal families to relax as a pleasure palace amidst the Pichola Lake.
  8. Ranakpur Temple: It is considered to be one of the most important Jain Temples as on the spree of destroying Hindu and Jain temples by Mughal Emperor Aurangzeb; this Temple was left untouched because of it hiding in the geographically difficult terrain location.

Hope this article helped you in learning the magnificent brief history of Mewar.

Don’t forget to like, share, and subscribe to My Udaipur City. We love reading your thoughts about our blog, kindly share them with us in the comment section below; any queries and suggestions are also much appreciated.

Similar Posts


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *